killosound.blogg.se

Sodor island 3d advert
Sodor island 3d advert












sodor island 3d advert

#Sodor island 3d advert tv#

How did you learn of and get involved with the “Thomas” pilot: "Down the Mine"?Īfter a few months of working on adverts, we got wind of the fact that David was planning to shoot a pilot of "Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends." From early childhood I passionately wanted to be involved in the making of a children's TV show and when the offer came to work with David on "Thomas", I didn't need much persuading. I was one of the first to join him and although I was very happy at DBP, I knew that if I didn't take him up on his offer I would regret it later. He was not at all affected by his position of director/producer and I guess this was helped by the fact that he had come up through the ranks as a model-maker/effects man on the Gerry Anderson shows.Īt that time Clearwater only had a skeleton crew of model-makers and as their workload was expanding at a rate of knots, David decided to tempt us away from DBP and join him down at his studios in Gwynne Road in Battersea. I liked David as soon as I met him and can only really sum him up as being a larger-than-life, gregarious character with a taste for wearing very loud jumpers! He always had a smile on his face and struck me as being very down-to-earth (even though he would often turn up to meetings dressed as a ship's captain complete with sailor's hat).

sodor island 3d advert

Several of these ads were being directed by David Mitton, who I first met when he came down to our Shepperton workshop to approve some of the models I was working on. I designed and made many miniature props and sets for quite a few animated TV commercials including "Prize Guy Yoghurts" and "KP Nuts." These were being produced by what many would argue was the foremost British animation production company of the time: Clearwater Films. I got my big break into the film industry in 1980 when I joined the long-established model-making company DBP at Shepperton Studios. Christopher, can you tell us about your pre-Thomas work as a Special Effects Designer and Modelmaker?














Sodor island 3d advert